Welcome to your new TextUs account!

When you first log in to TextUs you can find your username and phone number in the top right corner of your screen.

The very first time you log in, you will get a pop-up window asking if you would like to receive desktop notifications.

Create A Signature

To create a signature, click on the signatures tab. Click on the + icon.

Complete the fields to create your signature. Click the green + icon to save.

Then, click the check mark to the left of the signature to turn it off or on. If a signature is turned on, you can tell by looking quickly at the signatures tab. If there is an orange checkbox, the signature is ON. If not, the signature is OFF.  If the signature is turned on, it will be applied to all outbound messages including broadcasts.

Adding Contacts

There are two ways to add contacts, one of which is using Batch Actions. To access batch actions, click on the contacts tab and at the very top, select "Batch Actions."  There you will see an option to Upload Contacts.

Click on upload contacts, and then click the green Upload Contacts button. There, you can select a file from your computer that you've created and upload up to 1,000 contacts at once.

The spreadsheet MUST fit the correct requirements.  To find out what these requirements are, please click the button that says "Spreadsheet requirements"

Once you've selected a correctly formatted spreadsheet, it will take you to an upload pop-up with the options to update existing contact information and skip landlines.  If you check update existing contact information, it will update any contact information associated with that PHONE NUMBER.  If you check skip landlines, it will not upload any of the phone numbers that are landlines since those are not text enabled.

You can also add contacts individually.  To begin, click on the contacts tab again and clicking on the plus icon.

Add the contact's name and phone number, and then click "+ Create Contact" to save the contact.

The system will automatically prevent you from uploading duplicate contacts. You can have multiple contacts with the same name, but phone numbers can only be used for one contact at a time.

If you run into a duplicate, you can search for it by typing the phone number, name, or tag into the search bar on the contacts tab.

Managing Your Messages

Inbound messages will show up as a pop up if you have desktop notifications enabled and can also show up in the top left corner with a notification next to the messages tab.

The most recently received message will be at the very top of the list on the conversations tab.

There are four ways to filter your messages: by flagged, unread, unanswered, and by note.

For more information about conversation filters, you can read more here.

To view an individual conversation, open the conversations tab and then click on the conversation.  It will open on the right side of the screen. 

You can scroll up and down within that conversation to review your history, and you can hover over the time and date location on the message to see the exact time and date a message was sent.

You can also use this window to edit any of the information for an existing contact. Simply click the three dots in the top left corner of the conversation window. You can remove or add a flag, edit the contact's name, edit any tags, edit notes, opt out the contact or print your conversation history.

Sending A Message

To send out a message, type your message and click the green send icon.  If the send icon is grey, that means that contact has opted out.

When sending an individual message, you can include up to 420 characters, which is equivalent to 3 standard text messages.

In an individual message, you can include an emoticon in the message by selecting one from the emoji tab, or you can include a template that you've created by selecting one from the templates tab.

Creating A Template

Create your own templates by going to the templates tab.

Click on the + icon, create a title for the template, and then type the body of the template. You can use the personalization tab to include names in your template. 

Scheduling An Individual Message

You can schedule an individual message to go out in the future by clicking the calendar icon, typing out your message, then selecting a date and time from the drop downs, and then clicking the orange calendar button to schedule the message. 

A scheduled message will appear orange.  You can hover over the message to see what time and date your message is scheduled to go out.

Scheduled messages will go out even if you're not currently logged in to TextUs. 

To delete a scheduled message, go into the scheduled messages tab, find the date and time that the message was scheduled for, and then simply click the trash can icon to delete the scheduled message.

Creating And Adding Contacts To A Group

To send a broadcast message, you must first create a group.  You can do so by clicking on the groups tab, click the grey plus icon, enter a group name, and then click the green plus icon to create the group.  You can then add up to 100 contacts to a group.

Contacts included in the same group will not be able to see or reply to any other contacts you sent that message to, it will appear as a one-on-one message.

You can upload contacts via spreadsheet directly into the group by clicking the "Upload Contacts to Group" button and following the guidelines for uploading your spreadsheet.

You can also add existing contacts to a group by going to your contacts tab, clicking batch actions, and then "add to group." 

Select the group you would to add them to. You can then click the check box next to any of the users you would like added to the group then click the green plus icon to add the selected users to that group. 

Once your group is created, select the desired group from the groups tab and click "Send Group Broadcast" 

Making sure to follow the best practices for sending a group broadcast, create your message, up to 140 characters.

Create your message, select a date and time from the drop down menus, add emoji and personalization if desired, and then click the orange calendar button to schedule the broadcast message.  

Once a broadcast message is scheduled during a time slot, you can not schedule any other messages during that timeframe.  The messages will then be sent out in intervals of 50 messages per hour, or 100 messages every 2 hours.

Once a broadcast is scheduled, you will be able to see it on your scheduled messages tab.  If the message is orange, that means it is scheduled to go out in the future. If the message is dark purple, that means it is in the middle of being sent, and if the message is light purple, that means it is complete.  

To delete a scheduled broadcast, in the scheduled messages tab, click on the message you wish to delete, and then press the delete button. Only messages scheduled to go out in the future can be deleted. Messages that have already started sending or have completed sending cannot be deleted. 

Additional Questions

For additional questions, issues, or to learn more about TextUs, please visit help.textus.com, or reach out to support via the chat bubble in the bottom right hand corner of your screen.


HAPPY TEXTING! 

Did this answer your question?